OSS Presentation (March 26, 2008)

You can hear the March 26, 2008 presentation delivered by Zac, Amanda and myself on Open Source Software at the link below:

OSS Presentation in mp3 format

One response to “OSS Presentation (March 26, 2008)

  1. Not about this post, though we should talk about OSS sometime.

    I just found this blog! I don’t know why it took my so long. Anyway, I won’t go into detail about “reading” but! as someone who writes I always had trouble with the “reader response”, “reception theory” side of things. But then I read some Wolfgang Iser and some of Eco’s Open Work, and it seems to me that reading is more like performing on an instrument. We don’t consider the “work” complete or realized when it exists as a sheet of music, we only consider it realized when it’s played. And reading is the “playing” of a novel, story, poem, article, whatever. So we – the reader – has the same leeway in creation of meaning (though it isn’t unlimited) as a musician interpreting a piece of music.

    Congratulations on being (almost) done.

Leave a Reply

